My Musical Career and Struggles

Photo from Unsplash

I love to play the violin. I have been playing for three years. I started playing violin when I was eight years old and fell in love with it as soon as I started playing. I started playing during covid and I could not find a teacher so I decided to play piano instead and about a month into piano lessons I heard back from one of the violin teachers that I had reached out to. She said that she would be glad to have in person lessons as long as we were outside and we’re wearing masks. After about five months of playing violin and piano I decided to quit piano lessons and to pursue violin further. About one and a half years later I had to move so I found a new violin teacher. It took a while but I eventually found a teacher about thirty minutes away from my house. When I started playing with the new teacher he was a lot more challenging and he had a recital about once a month unlike my old teacher where we only had a recital every other month. Even though it was more challenging I enjoyed having a new teacher and liked the challenge. My new teacher also inspired me to learn other instruments and he also helped me with reading music. My old violin teacher was more focused on listening to the song and trying to figure it out from just a recording. I like both of the methods of teaching but reading music helped me to be able to play many instruments instead of just violin. About a year after I started playing with my new violin teacher I started a new school which was very challenging and extremely time consuming. My dad also inspired me to go to this school because he also went to this school from kindergarten all the way until the end of high school. It also made me feel better about struggling because he knows how challenging this school can be. After starting at the new school this year it became much harder to play violin and sometimes I felt like I would not be able to continue playing violin while balancing my first year of middle school. I simply just didn’t have enough time. I only had enough time to do homework and nothing else. Even with all the struggles of playing violin and the first year of middle school I keep persevering and I won’t give up violin this soon. I still have so much time to grow. And even when things are tough I still love playing violin. I also have to thank my mom for me helping as much as she can and pushing me to keep playing no matter how frustrated I get. Please write in the comments some of your struggles in life and who helped you overcome them.

Leave a Reply